As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

Protecting a creative workspace, production studio, or gear room requires interior sensors that detect unauthorized movement without triggering false alarms around tripods, light stands, and editing desks. Content creators, vloggers, and audio engineers frequently store valuable camera bodies, lenses, and computer rigs in flexible spaces where pets or changing equipment move across the floor. Choosing the right simplisafe motion detector involves deciding between factory-boxed retail hardware with bundled mounting supplies and renewed units that deliver Gen 3 system integration at a practical entry point. A well-placed sensor secures expensive creative assets during off-hours while maintaining a clean, cable-free studio aesthetic.

SimpliSafe organizes its motion hardware around its Gen 3 security architecture, maintaining physical uniformity while providing distinct sourcing paths across brand-new and certified renewed listings. Each simplisafe motion sensor pairs wirelessly with the Gen 3 base station, sending rapid status updates to desktop, laptop, smartphone, and tablet interfaces. While retail units feature factory-fresh lithium batteries, corner brackets, and pet-immunity ratings, renewed options under the simplisafe ms3 motion sensor series provide bare-sensor expansion. Reviewing this simply safe motion sensor lineup clarifies how battery types, stated coverage distances, and warranty terms differ, helping you decide which simplisafe motion detector to buy for your studio.

This guide by the numbers

8.8/10

Best rated model

Our highest score in this line-up

3

Models on file

Models in this guide that have a stored product record

1

Brand involved

Distinct brand names on the product records used here

Prices and specifications come from the stored Amazon listing data for the products in this article. Scores are out of 10, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback.

SimpliSafe Motion Detectors Lineup at a Glance

Model Condition Detection Range Power Source Key Studio Advantage
SimpliSafe Motion Sensor New 30 to 35 feet (90-degree field of view) 1 Lithium Metal battery (included) Corner coverage with pet rejection under 50 pounds
SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor Renewed Listing does not specify AA or AAA batteries 90-day limited warranty for equipment closets
SimpliSafe Motion Sensor Renewed 35 feet Battery Powered (type not specified) Long-range 35-foot tracking for open studio spaces

The Models in Detail

01

SimpliSafe Motion Sensor

Best for: Studios requiring verified 35-foot renewed coverage

Pros

  • Verified 35-foot maximum reach
  • Ultra-lightweight 4.54-gram housing
  • Compatible with Gen 3 security systems

Cons

  • Pet weight threshold not specified
  • Mounting hardware not explicitly listed
SimpliSafe Motion Sensor

SimpliSafe Motion Sensor

8.8/10Our score

Check price on Amazon

Best for: Creators needing brand-new full-room studio coverage

Pros

  • 35-foot maximum detection range
  • Pet friendly under roughly 50 pounds
  • Includes lithium battery and mounting hardware
  • Wide 90-degree corner field of view

Cons

  • Requires compatible Gen 3 base station

The brand-new SimpliSafe Motion Sensor is the primary indoor detection component built for the SimpliSafe Gen 3 Home Security System. The listing notes that it covers large rooms using a 90-degree field of view to detect motion within 30 feet, with specifications citing a maximum range of 35 feet. Physical dimensions measure 8 inches deep, 5 inches wide, and 2 inches high with an item weight of 4.54 grams in white. Power comes from an included single lithium metal battery. The listing notes an operating temperature of 20 degrees Celsius and a temperature range of minus 10 degrees Celsius (-1E+1 °C). For studios with animals, this simplisafe pet friendly motion sensor is engineered to ignore pets under around 50 pounds.

Mounting options detailed in the listing include peel-and-stick installation, shelf placement, or wall mounting with the included hardware. Following setup in the SimpliSafe App, the device connects to smartphones, tablets, laptops, and desktop computers. When motion triggers the sensor, fast alerts are sent directly to your phone. The listing notes compatibility with 24/7 professional monitoring plans, where agents can dispatch emergency help when an alarm occurs. To maximize effectiveness in creator spaces, the listing provides a pro tip to mount the sensor directly in a room corner, enabling the 90-degree lens to scan across doorways, editing desks, and camera storage lockers.

In production environments, this model is the best simplisafe motion detector for studio spaces housing expensive cameras and recording rigs. Including mounting hardware, a lithium battery, and verified 50-pound pet immunity, it represents the most complete setup in this simplisafe motion detector comparison. Studio creators can leave rendering computers running overnight without worrying that a pet will trigger a false alarm. It is the definitive choice for primary shooting floors, yielding to renewed alternatives only when outfitting secondary storage closets or windowless booths where factory retail packaging and pet rejection algorithms are unnecessary.

02

SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor

SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor

SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor

8.0/10Our score

Check price on Amazon

Best for: Budget-minded creators outfitting secondary storage spaces

Pros

  • Backed by 90-day limited warranty
  • Runs on standard AA or AAA batteries
  • Official SimpliSafe MS3 hardware

Cons

  • Detection range and angle not specified

The SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor is cataloged under Amazon Renewed as model MS3 with manufacturer part number MS3#EN#0174776E-cr and UPC 700433153822. Finished in white, this SimpliSafe-manufactured unit is offered as a single item for expanding existing systems. A key specification in the listing is its battery description, which states operation via AA or AAA batteries rather than proprietary lithium cells. Additionally, the listing specifies that this renewed unit comes protected by a 90 days limited warranty under the manufacturer warranty description, providing a verified testing window for studio owners expanding their security layout.

For video editors and audio engineers managing separate storage spaces, this simplisafe renewed motion sensor provides functional coverage. The listing does not specify detection range, field of view, or pet weight limits, so direct positioning facing critical entry points is best. Working alongside your facility’s simplisafe entry sensors, this MS3 unit is well suited for vocal booths, equipment closets, or editing suites. Because it uses standard AA or AAA batteries, creators can easily power it using the standard battery inventory already maintained for wireless microphones and production accessories.

This renewed MS3 sensor suits creators who prefer widely available battery formats over specialized coin or cylindrical lithium cells. The 90-day limited warranty offers reassurance against defects when outfitting utility zones on a budget. However, because the listing omits explicit range distances and pet-filtering thresholds, it yields to the factory-new model for main studio floors where pets roam during work hours. For secondary equipment vaults or quiet edit suites, this official simplisafe ms3 motion sensor delivers a capable, cost-conscious detection layer that integrates directly into the Gen 3 wireless network.

03

SimpliSafe Motion Sensor

The renewed SimpliSafe Motion Sensor is an Amazon Renewed listing compatible with the SimpliSafe Gen 3 Home Security System. Presented in white with an item weight of 4.54 grams, this battery-powered unit matches the physical appearance of the standard Gen 3 line. Crucially, its technical specifications confirm a maximum range of 35 feet, giving creators the distance needed to monitor long studio floors, backdrop storage areas, and equipment benches from a single mounting point.

While the specifications document a 35-foot maximum reach, the listing does not specify battery chemistry, field of view, or pet weight limits, nor does it specify included mounting hardware or adhesives. Serving as a simplisafe gen 3 motion sensor, it communicates with the Gen 3 base station to deliver mobile and desktop alerts when movement is detected. It is well suited for creators who already have mounting tape or brackets on hand and need long-range coverage across wide rooms.

This model serves creators who need verified 35-foot detection reach for large studio rooms while shopping renewed inventory. It suits production studios without roaming pets where open line-of-sight monitoring over camera bays and editing desks is the priority. In this simplisafe motion detector comparison, it offers confirmed range over the MS3 model, but defers to the brand-new model when included mounting hardware, lithium power, and pet-friendly filtering are required to prevent false alarms around studio animals.

Matching a Model to Your Setup

  • Main Live Studio with Roaming Office Pets: Choose the brand-new SimpliSafe Motion Sensor, which features a 90-degree field of view, 30-to-35-foot reach, and pet-friendly detection ignoring animals under 50 pounds.
  • Dedicated Gear Closet or Storage Locker: Choose the renewed SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor, which provides an official 90-day limited warranty and operates on common AA or AAA batteries.
  • Open-Plan Production Floor or Deep Studio Hallway: Choose the renewed SimpliSafe Motion Sensor with confirmed 35-foot maximum range, delivering extensive perimeter tracking across long sightlines.
  • Multi-Room Studio Expansion on Existing Mounts: Choose the renewed SimpliSafe Motion Sensor, ideal for creators who already own mounting tape and need a lightweight 4.54-gram sensor for their Gen 3 base station.
  • Turnkey Studio Build Requiring Included Supplies: Choose the brand-new SimpliSafe Motion Sensor, ensuring corner brackets, peel-and-stick adhesive pads, and a lithium metal battery arrive ready for immediate app setup.

Before You Buy

Before purchasing, take note of what the listings do not specify. While the brand-new model includes a lithium metal battery and mounting hardware, the renewed listings do not specify whether adhesive strips, screws, or batteries are included. The MS3 renewed model lists AA or AAA battery operation, whereas the new sensor requires lithium power, and the second renewed listing leaves battery type unspecified. None of the listings specify weatherproofing or water resistance, confirming all models are intended strictly for indoor, climate-controlled studio use between minus 10 and 20 degrees Celsius.

Compatibility is another important factor. All three listings specify compatibility with the SimpliSafe Gen 3 Home Security System, but none include a base station, keypad, or standalone siren. These sensors cannot operate as standalone alarm units; they require a Gen 3 hub to transmit notifications to smartphones, tablets, laptops, and desktop computers. Furthermore, while the listings mention fast alerts and 24/7 monitoring capabilities, emergency dispatch requires an active professional monitoring subscription. Verify your base station is Gen 3 before purchasing.

FAQ

How far can a SimpliSafe motion detector sense movement across a studio?

The brand-new SimpliSafe Motion Sensor detects motion within 30 feet across a 90-degree field of view, with specifications citing a maximum range of 35 feet. The renewed Gen 3 motion sensor listing also confirms a maximum range of 35 feet. The listing for the renewed MS3 motion sensor does not specify a maximum detection distance or field of view.

Will studio pets trigger false alarms on these motion sensors?

The listing for the brand-new SimpliSafe Motion Sensor specifies that it is pet-friendly, ignoring pets under around 50 pounds to reduce false alarms. The listings for both renewed motion sensor models do not specify pet weight thresholds, so creators with pets should position renewed units higher or select the brand-new sensor.

What types of batteries power these SimpliSafe motion detectors?

The brand-new SimpliSafe Motion Sensor includes one lithium metal battery. In contrast, the renewed SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor specifies operation using standard AA or AAA batteries. The renewed Gen 3 motion sensor confirms it is battery powered, but its listing does not specify battery chemistry or size.

Can I use these motion sensors as standalone security devices without a base station?

No, none of the listings indicate standalone operation. The listings confirm compatibility with the SimpliSafe Gen 3 Home Security System, requiring a Gen 3 base station to coordinate signals and deliver app notifications to mobile devices, tablets, laptops, and desktop computers.

What mounting options are included with these SimpliSafe motion sensors?

The brand-new SimpliSafe Motion Sensor listing specifies peel-and-stick installation, shelf placement, or wall mounting with included hardware, including a pro tip to mount in a corner. For the renewed models, the listings do not specify whether mounting tape or brackets are included in the packaging.

What warranty coverage is provided with renewed SimpliSafe motion sensors?

The renewed SimpliSafe MS3 Motion Sensor listing details a 90 days limited warranty under the manufacturer warranty description. For the other renewed Gen 3 model, specific warranty terms are not detailed in the listing specifications. The brand-new model is covered under standard retail terms.